A Guide to the Chakra System: Understanding the Solar Plexus Chakra - Aura Camera (2024)

A Guide to the Chakra System: Understanding the Solar Plexus Chakra - Aura Camera (1)

It is believed that there are seven points of energy within the body’s chakra system. These points run from the base of the spine to above the crown of the head. The chakras are believed to be associated with your mood as well as your spiritual wellbeing.

Understanding the chakra energy system depends on knowing what each individual chakra represents and understanding its energy and symbolic meaning. Once you’ve familiarized yourself with the root and sacral chakras, it’s time to explore the solar plexus chakra.

Note: This article was written according to people’s belief in metaphysics.

What is the Solar Plexus Chakra?

A Guide to the Chakra System: Understanding the Solar Plexus Chakra - Aura Camera (2)

The solar plexus chakra, or Manipura, represents the core self. In Sanskrit, Manipura means “lustrous gem,” as there are many treasures to be found in this chakra. Spiritually located in the center of the body, it is the third chakra and is associated with willpower, clarity, self-confidence, identity, and responsibility.

Since the solar plexus chakra is deeply connected to your sense of self, it is manifested when you assert yourself in the world or use your personal power. It turns inaction into action and supports the warmth of your personality as well as your ability to make wise, correct decisions in your life. In short, a well-balanced Manipura allows you to live an authentic life by balancing your self-discipline and willpower with a sense of confidence and intention.

Solar Plexus Chakra Key Elements

The third chakra is integral to defining yourself as a person. With so much bright energy, it’s no wonder that this chakra is defined by the element of fire. Like fire, Manipura sends energy into the world and can grow from a tiny spark into a powerful blaze. As such, the solar plexus chakra is also referred to as the Sun Center or Fire Center, providing a spiritual energy center for the whole body.

A Guide to the Chakra System: Understanding the Solar Plexus Chakra - Aura Camera (3)

This chakra is located in the naval center, as it is believed to be the core of your personality. It sits above the belly button and below the heart. Some believe that the digestive system, liver, and gallbladder can impact this chakra.

The solar plexus chakra is also connected to the color yellow—much like a bright flame manifesting heat and energy. For a better understanding of how this yellow chakra functions in conjunction with the other chakras, the full color spectrum has been detailed below.

  • Red – Root Chakra or Muladhara chakra.
  • Orange – Sacral Chakra or Svadhisthana chakra.
  • Yellow – Solar Plexus Chakra or Manipura chakra.
  • Green – Heart Chakra or Anahata chakra.
  • Blue – Throat Chakra or Vishuddha chakra.
  • Indigo – Third Eye Chakra or Anja chakra.
  • VioletCrown Chakra or Sahaswara chakra.

In addition to a color, every chakra has a symbol. The third chakra is symbolized by a circle with an inverted triangle inside, surrounded by ten lotus petals. The lotus represents life, rebirth, and spiritual awakening.

Solar Plexus Chakra Problems

Now that you understand the many positive attributes of the solar plexus chakra, it’s important to be aware of the negative sides as well. An imbalance in your Manipura can lead to problems in your spiritual health and can affect the entire chakra system.

Many people will not always have perfectly balanced chakras. Life confronts us with challenges—stressful events, changes to routine, or anxiety—and chakra blockages are the result. When this happens, the energy in our bodies can no longer flow freely, and other chakras may try to compensate for the one that is blocked.

Since the solar plexus chakra is the seat of our sense of self, blockages to this chakra can be caused by a number of physical and psychological issues.

A Guide to the Chakra System: Understanding the Solar Plexus Chakra - Aura Camera (4)

Psychological problems associated with the third chakra include:

  • Low self-esteem
  • Inability to set boundaries
  • Lack of self-control
  • Depression or anxiety

Additionally, some spiritual people associate problems with the digestive system, such as indigestion and weight gain/loss, with a blockage in this chakra.
When the Manipura chakra is imbalanced, it can throw off the other chakras. Imbalances can occur when the chakra is either deficient or excessive. The question is whether your chakra is underperforming or overcompensating.

A deficient solar plexus chakra may cause you to lose your sense of self. Without its centering energy, you can experience lack of confidence in yourself or your decisions, helplessness, indecisiveness, low self-esteem, and lack of purpose.

A Guide to the Chakra System: Understanding the Solar Plexus Chakra - Aura Camera (5)

However, an excessive solar plexus chakra may cause just as much damage. When this chakra is overactive, you may try to exert your will too harshly onto others, become overly judgmental, experience anger and aggression, or become extremely stubborn.

Solar Plexus Healing

There are many ways to heal an imbalanced chakra. This guide to chakra energy healing is a good place to start. Just remember that your energy is unique, and you may need to try several types of chakra healing before you see results.

Solar Plexus Healing Stones

A Guide to the Chakra System: Understanding the Solar Plexus Chakra - Aura Camera (6)

To open your solar plexus chakra, make sure you start with these 5 steps to healing your solar plexus chakra. You can also use yellow chakra stones, such as tiger’s eye, citrine, or amber. Meditating with these stones on hand or physically carrying them with you is thought to help unblock the energy. Essential oils like sweet marjoram, ginger root, and cedarwood can also get the energy flowing.

Practicing Solar Plexus Yoga Poses

Once the energy healing has begun, the chakra needs to be balanced within the body. There are several helpful yoga poses that can realign the third chakra.

A Guide to the Chakra System: Understanding the Solar Plexus Chakra - Aura Camera (7)

Try these core strength exercises:

  • Sun Salutations
  • Warrior Poses
  • Boat Pose

Healing Solar Plexus Meditation

If yoga isn’t enough, try meditating on the solar plexus. Because this is the yellow chakra, meditate in the sunshine if you can, and imagine a bright yellow sunflower over your solar plexus chakra.

As you meditate, consider these affirmations:

  • I love and accept myself.
  • I am authentic.
  • I have purpose.
  • I have power.
  • I choose loving relationships.

There are many benefits to a healthy, balanced solar plexus chakra. Be sure to try these activities so you can reap the benefits of your own Manipura.

A Guide to the Chakra System: Understanding the Solar Plexus Chakra - Aura Camera (2024)
Top Articles
Latest Posts
Article information

Author: Msgr. Refugio Daniel

Last Updated:

Views: 6137

Rating: 4.3 / 5 (54 voted)

Reviews: 85% of readers found this page helpful

Author information

Name: Msgr. Refugio Daniel

Birthday: 1999-09-15

Address: 8416 Beatty Center, Derekfort, VA 72092-0500

Phone: +6838967160603

Job: Mining Executive

Hobby: Woodworking, Knitting, Fishing, Coffee roasting, Kayaking, Horseback riding, Kite flying

Introduction: My name is Msgr. Refugio Daniel, I am a fine, precious, encouraging, calm, glamorous, vivacious, friendly person who loves writing and wants to share my knowledge and understanding with you.